Stationsweg 137
2515 BM Den Haag
070 3886585


Nieuwe openingstijden
Do - Za 12.00 - 18.00 uur
Alleen geopend tijdens tentoonstellingen



Lana Mesic (1987, CR)
is a documentary photographer who explores the realm
of the invisible. Most of her work centers on the exploration of photography as a construct and the boundaries between reality and illusion. She is captivated by things that have no image but also by the innate human desire to visualize these imageless phenomena. She considers the use of photography to do so as a certain kind of alchemy.
One of the main issues Mesic raises is how we, as humans, deal with the idea of invisibility and how this reflects on the world we live in. We tend to project desires and fears onto invisible worlds and as such it becomes a reflection of our inner selves. This curiosity stems from a subjective personal experience with the invisible which is then concentrically expanded and manifests itself as an ongoing investigation of the nature of reality. Is it out there or is it a construct of our minds?
Recently she has been focusing on projects that question the role of photography. In these projects (taking place most recently in Rwanda and São Paulo) she explores the capacity of photography to make the world a better place and searches for means how to do so.
In 2013 Mesic was long listed for the Dutch Doc Awards, went to Plat(t)form Winterthur and participated in Pirelli Photo Biennial in Oscar Niemeyer Museum, Curitiba. In 2014 she was nominated for the New Talent Photography Award ING. Her project Anatomy of Forgiveness, for which she collaborated with Creative Court, was exhibited in The Hague, New York ,Tokyo, Kigali and Zagreb

Lana Mesic (1987, Croatia)

expositie 2015
expositie 2013
expositie 2012

Alexandra Crouwers
Daan Paans
Karianne Bueno
Krista van der Niet
Lana Mesic
Marleen Sleeuwits
Nadine Stijns
Pierre Derks
Rob Wetzer
Sarah Carlier
Sjoerd Knibbeler

Thomas Kuijpers

Adam Jeppesen
Aram Tanis
Ahmet Polat
Amber Isabel
Andrew Phelps
Anke van Iersel
Anke Muijsers
Anouk Kruithof
Aram Tanis
Bao Yao Fei
Charlotte Lybeer
Charlott Markus
Christian Kryl
Clare Strand

Cristina de Middel
David Elshout
David Graas
Edwin Deen
Eva Flendrie
Femke Dekkers
Gijs Kast
Henri van Nuenen
Indre Klimaite
Ilona Plaum
Iris Vetter
Isabella Rozendaal
Jan Rosseel
Johan Gustavsson
Julia Gunther
Karin Mientjes
Koen Hauser
Larissa Sansour
Lucian Wester
Marsel Loermans
Martyn F. Overweel
Mary Sibande
Masood Kamandy
Maurice van Es
Mémé Bartels
Natascha Libbert
Newsha Tavakolian
Peter de Krom
Pim Leenen
Pinar & Viola
Popel Coumou
Rachel de Joode
Rodrigo Marcondes
Rune Peitersen
Ruth van Beek
Sander Reijgers
Sara-Lena Maierhofer
Sara Vrugt
Stephan Keppel
Taisuke Koyama
Takashi Kawashima
Timon van der Hijden
Tine Guns
Waheeda Malullah
Xiaoxiao Xu



  Copyright (C) 2017 Liefhertje en De Grote Witte Reus Den Haag / All rights reserved / Disclaimer
Thanks to: Europese Unie, Gemeente Den Haag, Stroom Den Haag, Hofstad Hosting
  Hier wordt geïnvesteerd in uw toekomst.
Dit project is mede mogelijk gemaaktmet steun van het Europees Fonds voor Regionale Ontwikkeling van de Europese Unie.